Skip to content

I Got It From My Momma

August 9, 2009

To those of you who ask me why and how and when i became a model… the answer is leads back to my Mama.

mother like daughter
mother like daughter

My mom, Zonia,  was a model for 20 years. She began her career at the age of 18 and it ended when she had me.

I came across one of her portfolios today and found countless newspaper clippings of her along with other pictures of her strutting down the runway. She worked in SF, LA and NY. Its no wonder why i love what i do… it runs in the fam 🙂

At a young age my mom inspired me to model.  I was always a girly girl since i could remember. I would always put on my moms lipstick and walk in her high heels and play dress up. As i grew up i knew that i was into fashion and clothing so why not follow in my moms footsteps? I told my mom that i wanted to model and one thing led to another. I met with some agencies soon after and ended up signing with LOOK model agency in SF at the age of 9.

I began my career and had my mom by my side to support me. It was nice to know she knew alot about the industry and she was able to help me with everything. Due to the fact that i was so young and didn’t drive, my mom and dad would take turns picking me up from school and taking me to castings every week. I ended working with clients such as Macys and Mervyns.

Macys

As the years went by i continued modeling with full support from my mom. To this day  i am really thankful to have her in my life, even if we dont get along all the time she is still my inspiration. I will continue to model and will always remember it was my mom who made me realize what i was put on this earth to do 🙂

And for those who ask “where’d you get that body from?”

Now you know i got it from my momma ❤

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

